Six Sentence Sunday

Here are six sentences from my latest short story, “What is Born from Sorrow.” Thanks for reading!

 I was carrying twins but only for a brief time. Once the first one left, the other, I’m sure, took it as a sign that my womb was no good.  Not for one baby, much less two. They must’ve been our kids, smart like Devin. New nightmares visit me. I am cradling, nursing, dressing, bathing, loving two whole babies, and the pleasure is so painful, that even in sleep, I expect to wake and find a sword stuck firmly through my heart.

 

One thought on “Six Sentence Sunday

Leave a Reply

