The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

The Next Big Thing Blog Hop

 

     Much thanks to Kay Rogal for tagging me to be a part of this blog hop! How it works: An author answers a set of questions about their current work-in-progress and posts it on their blog along with the names and links to the blogs of 4-5 authors they’re tagging. Then, the following Wednesday, those authors post their answers to the questions along with the 4-5 authors they are tagging and so on.

Here is my latest work in progress: “The Baby Symphony” and a little about the prequel, “The Marriage Symphony”…

 

What is the working title of your next book?

“The Baby Symphony” and “The Marriage Symphony”

 

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I have many people who I deeply care about who have struggled with conceiving or carrying children. My heart would ache for them. I couldn’t even begin to imagine feeling their pain. All I could relate it to was the fact that I had my babies, but the idea of ever not having them could kill me. As a writer, I wondered how I could convey their stories. With these friends’ permission, I began to interview them and began writing a love story about a couple who fought for their marriage amid the devastation of losing their beloved children to miscarriages.  

 

What genres does your book fall under?

Contemporary Romance – Marriage-Pregnancy

 

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Eeeks! When I write this book, I always have Ryan Gosling as the lawyer hottie husband and my all-time favorite romance gal, Rachel McAdams as Emilia. I just can’t seem to get past those two together in “The Notebook.” They were just amazing together and it would be a dream come true, beyond bucket list, to see these two together in my story…!!!  *Wipes away a tear*

 

What is a one sentence synopsis of your book?

With labored pasts, finally married Emilia and Devin are ready to start a family, but when their dream of having a baby fails them, can they hold strong after everything else they’ve been through?

 

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Still unsure!!

 

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
3 months

 

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

 

I love Nora Roberts and Nicholas Sparks so I’d love to say they inspire my writing.

 

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

 

My friends’ stories of struggle as well as all-healing love.

 

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

 

Devin is a lawyer, Emilia a violinist in the symphony. Her love of music is integrated into the piece. Emilia befriends her pregnant teenage neighbor and takes her under her wing. Emilia has no one but Devin and he has no one but her, and they become a family with this girl and her widowed mother. It’s a beautiful story of friendships and family and learning to be happy even on a hard road of misfortune. Oh! And there’s a Christmas surprise! Oh! Did I mention there’s also a newly written prequel: “The Marriage Symphony?” Looking forward to 2013!

* * *

Here are the fabulous authors I’ve tagged to tell you about their Next Big Thing!

 

Angela Scavone http://angelascavone.com/

Tmonique Stephens http://tmoniquestephens.com/

Aliza Mann http://alizamannauthor.blogspot.com/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

