Happy Valentine’s Day!

     Happy Valentine’s Day!  I remember my first Valentine’s Day married to my sweetheart. He bought me flowers and “The Notebook.” We picked up a delightful dinner, and then I sobbed the rest of the night after we watched the movie. Sooo much has changed since our first Valentine’s Day together!

Image

 

   On this special day when billions of dollars will be spent on cards, chocolates and flowers, here’s what I’ll remember about MY Valentine’s celebration this year:

 

1.     My husband and I enjoyed a nice and quiet, child-free dinner with some wonderful friends on Fat Tuesday. Our server gave us beads, but we certainly didn’t have to earn them! We celebrate early every year because on the actual day, my sweetheart, who is the general manager of a restaurant, won’t see anything outside of work until they close for the night, and when he gets home, he drops. Seriously. Therefore, my day and evening will be spent with my other sweethearts, my beautiful children!

 

2. We also celebrated yesterday as a family since my hubby was home.  I made my family chocolate-covered strawberries, brownies, and a delightful chicken dinner. I’m glad he got to enjoy the treats because I guarantee that he would’ve missed out otherwise! 

 

3. Yesterday morning, I offered to make the Rice Crispy treats for our son’s Valentine’s Day party. I bought the ingredients that morning, but got caught up in our own holiday treats and next thing I know, it was time to go teach my night class. When I got home at 10, my husband, who had done homework, Boy Scouts and chocolate candy deliveries to our mothers, was knocked out. But he stirred when I got home, I told him that I needed to make the treats, but then I collapsed right beside him. Next thing I know at midnight when he happened to wake up, he realized I didn’t make the treats, and like a little magical Valentine’s elf, he got right to work! I awoke this morning to heart-shaped treats with red sprinkles, and fell in love with him all over again (as I do quite often!).

 

I am very blessed! I have THE BEST Valentines I could ever ask for! 

What are you Valentine memories this year?

 

2 thoughts on “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. What a beautiful post. Your husband sounds like a wonderful person. Valentine’s Day is a day to acknowledge and appreciate your love, but I’d venture to say, you celebrate your love every day of the year.
    Happy Valentine’s Day. You are truly blessed.

Leave a Reply

